Governing Council

THE NERC DTP Governing Council has the role of the overseeing body and includes Vice-Provosts/Principals of Research (or equivalent) from each Partner Institution, a NERC representative, two representatives from our Case Partners, and ex-officio the Director and the Administrative Manager. The Council meets biannually and considers strategic direction, additional funding, summaries of studentship allocations, student feedback and the Partnership’s activities.


Chair & Core Team

David Bogle (Pro-Vice-Provost, Doctoral School, UCL)

Mark Maslin (Director, NERC DTP, UCL)

Kevin Fowler (Deputy Director, NERC DTP, UCL)

David Thornalley (Deputy Director – Training, NERC DTP, UCL)

Governing Council Members 

Paul Hogg (Vice Principal and Dean of Science, Royal Holloway)

Ken Norris (Director of Science, Institute of Zoology)

Aaron Hughes (Senior Science Programme Officer, NERC)

Frans Berkhout (Executive Dean, Faculty of Social Science and Public Policy, King’s College)

Tim Littlewood (Director of Science, Natural History Museum)

Geoff Rodgers (Pro Vice Chancellor Research, Brunel)

Bill Spence (Vice Principal for Research, Queen Mary)

Julian Swann (Pro-Vice Master for Research, Birkbeck College)

Sarah Daly (Sustainability and training expert, SD21 ltd)

Richard Potter (Microsoft AI/Machine learning)

Stay informed

Click here to subscribe to our RSS newsletter by email.

Find Us

University College London is the administrative lead.

Pearson Building, UCL, Gower Street, London, WC1E 6BT

Follow us on Twitter